In This Guide
What is new in Flex 8.28.0.0?
Magicmotorsport released Hyundai and Kia Kefico SIM2K-510 support on 30 October 2026. Flex 8.28.0.0 adds OBD virtual-read calibration work and an OBD-on-bench real-read route when a virtual file is unavailable. Unlocking is automatic during the first real read or write.
CAN-FD versions are included, with the new FLX4.4 adapter required for writing. The published operations cover virtual read, read, write and map checksum. This is calibration access, not a promise of full-memory cloning or recovery from every failed ECU.
Which Hyundai and Kia models use SIM2K510?
The complete SIM2K-510 filter in Magicmotorsport's public Flex database returned 25 variants across 10 model names when checked on 30 October 2026. All 25 are below, including variants beyond the five launch-page examples. These are the manufacturer-listed applications, not an exhaustive claim about every worldwide vehicle or software version.
The model-series years are reproduced from that database. They describe its model records, not the first or last date this ECU was fitted. For example, an i40 record beginning in 2011 does not mean every 2011 i40 has SIM2K510. Check the actual ECU label and diagnostic hardware/software ID.
Power is shown in the database's PS and kW units. The launch article uses 114/134 HP examples, while the database lists 116/136 PS variants; these labels should not be treated as extra engine versions. MHEV means mild hybrid. A model badge, engine capacity or registration year alone cannot confirm the fitted ECU.
25 variants
| Model / database version | Diesel engine | Listed output | Engine code | Model-series years, not ECU fitment dates |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hyundai i30 (III) PD | 1.6l CRDi 16V | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2017; end not stated |
| Hyundai i30 (III) PD | 1.6L CRDi 16v MHEV | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2017; end not stated |
| Hyundai i40 (I) VF | 1.6l CRDi 16V | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2011 to 2019 |
| Hyundai i40 (I) VF | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2011 to 2019 |
| Hyundai Kona (I) OS | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2017 to 2023 |
| Hyundai Kona (I) OS | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FB | 2017 to 2023 |
| Hyundai Kona (I) OS | 1.6L CRDi 16v MHEV | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2017 to 2023 |
| Hyundai Tucson (III) TL | 1.6l CRDi 16V | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2015 to 2021 |
| Hyundai Tucson (III) TL | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2015 to 2021 |
| Hyundai Tucson (IV) NX4 | 1.6l CRDi 16V | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2020 to 2025 |
| Hyundai Tucson (IV) NX4 | 1.6L CRDi 16v MHEV | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2020 to 2025 |
| Kia Ceed (III) CD | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2018 to 2025 |
| Kia Ceed (III) CD | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2018 to 2025 |
| Kia Ceed (III) CD | 1.6L CRDi 16v MHEV | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2018 to 2025 |
| Kia Ceed (III) CD | 1.6L CRDi 16v MHEV | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2018 to 2025 |
| Kia Optima (IV) JF | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2015 to 2020 |
| Kia ProCeed (I) | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2019 to 2026 |
| Kia Sportage (IV) QL | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2015 to 2021 |
| Kia Sportage (IV) QL | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2015 to 2021 |
| Kia Sportage (V) NQ5 | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2021; end not stated |
| Kia Sportage (V) NQ5 | 1.6L CRDi 16v MHEV | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2021; end not stated |
| Kia Stonic (I) YB | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2017 to 2025 |
| Kia Stonic (I) YB | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2017 to 2025 |
| Kia XCeed (I) | 1.6L CRDi 16v | 116 PS / 85 kW | D4FE | 2019; end not stated |
| Kia XCeed (I) | 1.6L CRDi 16v MHEV | 136 PS / 100 kW | D4FE | 2019; end not stated |
No variants match. Clear the filter to see the full list, or send your ECU identification for a support check.
Source spelling Proceed is displayed as ProCeed. Blank end years are shown as end not stated, not as a claim of continuing production. The Kona 116 PS row is listed with D4FB; the other rows show D4FE. Confirm the actual engine and ECU identity rather than assuming all variants share a code.
What should you send for a SIM2K510 tuning quote?
Send the registration, full postcode, exact engine and gearbox, mileage and the change you want from the vehicle. Add the ECU label or a diagnostic identification report, including hardware and software references, if available. Tell us whether it is a mild hybrid and whether previous tuning or dealer software updates have been carried out.
Northern Calibration enquiries are handled by Precision Remaps UK. We check the actual software, protocol, equipment requirements and vehicle condition before agreeing access, calibration scope, price or availability. Do not remove or post the ECU until the job has been accepted.
Stage 1 remapping, faults and sensible expectations
An access release creates a possible programming route; it does not establish a safe power figure for an individual car. A Stage 1 brief should consider existing engine and transmission condition, service history, current warnings and the owner's driving needs. No fixed bhp, torque or fuel-saving gain is promised from this list.
Explain any limp mode, DPF, EGR, SCR/AdBlue or other warning before requesting extra performance. A fault-finding enquiry and a tuning enquiry have different scopes. Ask for a calibration that retains the required emissions systems, and confirm insurance and warranty implications before proceeding.
SIM2K510 recovery, repair and cloning are separate enquiries
If the ECU stopped responding after programming, keep the original read, written file, identification reports and tool logs. Tell us exactly which operation failed and what the vehicle does now. Avoid repeated speculative writes while the history and supported recovery options are assessed.
For a suspected hardware failure or donor replacement, send the complete original and donor labels and the diagnostic findings. A virtual calibration read is not evidence that the original security and configuration data needed for cloning has been recovered. The new release alone does not confirm a supported clone or a plug-and-play replacement.
Workshop, northern mobile and UK postal enquiries
The workshop base is Burton upon Trent. Owners and garages in Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds, Sheffield, Newcastle and the wider North can send the same vehicle details for assessment. Mobile suitability and travel are checked by postcode; these locations are service areas, not additional branches.
Where an accepted job needs a removed controller, agree the parts, packing and return arrangements before dispatch. Postal support can suit garages that will remove, refit and complete vehicle-side checks. A listed bench route does not mean every tuning or non-start job can be completed by post.
Sources and coverage check
Checked 30 October 2026. Vehicle and protocol lists can change; current support is reconfirmed for the actual ECU before work.
Send the information that helps.
- Registration, model, engine, gearbox and full postcode
- ECU label or hardware/software identification report
- MHEV status, mileage and service history
- Previous tuning, updates, current warnings and fault report
- Tuning goal, or original/donor details and logs for a recovery enquiry
Questions about this enquiry
Is SIM2K510 tuning now available through OBD?
Magicmotorsport has released an OBD calibration route in Flex 8.28.0.0. We check the exact ECU and software before confirming your job. OBD on bench provides a real-read option where a virtual read is unavailable.
Does every Hyundai or Kia 1.6 CRDi have SIM2K510?
No. The model list identifies specific database variants, not every engine, year, market or controller fitted under that badge. Send the ECU identification for confirmation.
Which models are in the published SIM2K510 list?
The checked list covers Hyundai i30, i40, Kona and Tucson, plus Kia Ceed, Optima, ProCeed, Sportage, Stonic and XCeed. The table contains all 25 database variants and their listed engine details.
Does the release include CAN-FD versions?
Yes. Magicmotorsport states that CAN-FD writing needs the FLX4.4 adapter. The exact connection and current software support must be verified for the identified unit.
Does this update confirm SIM2K510 cloning?
No. The announcement describes map programming access. A donor transfer, full backup or failed-programming recovery must be checked separately for the exact unit and available original data.
